Fred's Endorsements

Newspaper Endorsements

  • Des Moines Register
    • “We think Hubbell, in the mold of former Gov. Tom Vilsack, would be far more effective at accomplishing progressive goals than a far-left visionary…He’s the party’s best choice for 2018.” (READ MORE)
  • Quad-City Times
    • “Hubbell is the only candidate fully capable of challenging Reynolds’ record on mental health and education funding, access to women’s health care and Iowa’s foundering Medicaid privatization effect.” (READ MORE)
  • Carroll Daily Times Herald
    • “Fred Hubbell brings an all-Iowa eye to his campaign, a balance of business, government and charitable work, an understanding of the dynamics of Des Moines and Dunlap. We trust him to be what is No. 1 on our list: an able advocate for rural Iowa — a leader who sees opportunities and energy in Carroll and Greene and Guthrie counties where others dismiss us as mere feeder lots for the growing suburbs rimming Des Moines. The Daily Times Herald today endorses Fred Hubbell in the Democratic primary race for governor.” (READ MORE)

Additional Endorsements

  • North Central State Regional Council of Carpenters
    • “We are proud to support Fred Hubbell for his history of leadership and public service, and his support for fair wages and a safe environment for Iowa’s workers. As governor, Fred would work to restore expanded collective bargaining rights and eliminate newly enacted workers’ compensation laws that take away the rights of workers who are hurt on the job.” -Brian Ewing, NCSRCC Director for Iowa and Nebraska (READ MORE)
  • Laborers Local 177
    • “Laborers Local 177 is proud to stand with Fred Hubbell in this final stretch, because we know he will stand with us. Whether it’s getting incomes rising across our state or restoring workers compensation laws, we know Fred will be a staunch advocate for every Iowan, especially working men and women.” Mike Weckman, Business Manager, Laborers Local 177

Democratic Party Leaders

  • Scott County Democratic Chair and Former Davenport Mayor Thom Hart
  • Former Democratic Party Chairman Rob Tully

Statewide and Federal Officials


  • Attorney General Tom Miller


  • Governor Chet Culver
  • U.S. Congressman Berkley Bedell
  • Lieutenant Governor and State Senator Patty Judge
  • Lieutenant Governor Sally Pederson

Legislative Elected Official Endorsements


  • Senate Assistant Leader Bill Dotzler
  • Senator Tony Bisignano
  • Senator Jeff Danielson
  • Senator Jim Lykam
  • Senator Matt McCoy
  • Representative and Former Candidate for Governor Todd Prichard
  • Representative Ako Abdul-Samad
  • Representative Wes Breckenridge
  • Representative Dennis Cohoon
  • Representative John Forbes
  • Representative Ruth Ann Gaines
  • Representative Chris Hall
  • Representative Lisa Heddens
  • Representative Dave Jacoby
  • Representative Jerry Kearns
  • Representative Monica Kurth
  • Representative Bob Kressig
  • Representative Vicki Lensing
  • Representative Mary Mascher
  • Representative Brian Meyer
  • Representative Helen Miller
  • Representative Phil Miller
  • Representative Scott Ourth
  • Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell
  • Representative Cindy Winckler
  • Representative Mary Wolfe


  • Former Senate Majority Leader George Kinley
  • Former Senator and 2014 Democratic Nominee for Governor Jack Hatch
  • Former Senator Staci Appel
  • Former Senator Dennis Black
  • Former Senator Tom Courtney
  • Former Senator Pat Deluhery
  • Former Senator Julia Gentleman
  • Former Senator Bill Gluba
  • Former Senator Steve Hanson
  • Former Senator Jack Holveck
  • Former Senator John Judge
  • Former Senator Ralph Rosenberg
  • Former Senator Bob Rush
  • Former Senator Roger Stewart
  • Former Senator Frank Wood
  • Former House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy
  • Former House Majority Leader Wayne McKinney
  • Former House Minority Leader Dick Myers
  • Former Representative Deb Berry
  • Former Representative Rick Dickinson
  • Former Representative Steve Falck
  • Former Representative and head of Iowa Department on Aging Ro Foege
  • Former Representative Wayne Ford
  • Former Representative Paul Johnson
  • Former Representative Doris Kelley
  • Former Representative Dan Muhlbauer
  • Former Representative David Osterberg
  • Former Representative Mike Reasoner
  • Former Representative Joe Riding
  • Former Representative Tom Schueller
  • Former Representative Sally Stutsman
  • Former Representative Jane Teaford
  • Former Representative Bill Witt

County Officials


  • Black Hawk County Sheriff Tony Thompson
  • Clinton County Sheriff Rick Lincoln
  • Des Moines County Sheriff Mike Johnstone
  • Johnson County Sheriff Lonny Pulkrabek
  • Linn County Sheriff Brian Gardner
  • Story County Sheriff Paul Fitzgerald
  • Polk County Sheriff Bill McCarthy
  • Poweshiek County Sheriff Thomas Kriegel
  • Poweshiek County Supervisor Diana Dawley
  • Scott County Attorney Mike Walton
  • Scott County Auditor Roxanna Moritz
  • Woodbury County Auditor Pat Gill



  • Des Moines Mayor Frank Cownie
  • Fort Dodge Mayor Matt Bemrich
  • Sioux City Mayor Bob Scott


  • Iowa City Mayor Matt Hayek
  • Waterloo Mayor Buck Clark

Local Officials

  • Blue Glass City Councilwoman Emilnye Slagle
  • West Des Moines City Councilwoman Renee Hardman
  • Davenport Alderman Mike Matson

Contribute Now

Click on an option to get started. If you've saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately.

Get Involved